My Love For Old Stuff

I love old stuff! When I was a little girl once a week at least Mom and Dad would go to a couple local thrift shops. Back then the shops were not as nice and organized as they are now. They were dirty and cluttered.

The best part was I was allowed to touch things. You never knew what you would find buried in the piles of old stuff.

My Mom would buy curtains or knick knacks. Take them home and clean them up. My Dad would buy a tool. Maybe another hammer…he would say you can never have to many hammers. I guess with 5 kids borrowing them…lol.

I have been going through all my old things. It’s hard to part with some items. May need that some day….I will lose 10 pounds and those jeans will fit again…Yea right! Or I have some emotional attachment to the item.

Since deciding to Simplify my life, I have been able to start letting some things go. The old clothes that even if they did fit again they would not be in style. Last week I was finally able to let go of the family encyclopedia set. I have been carrying those darn things each time we moved.

Vietnam Veterans Of American  came and picked them up free of charge. They also supply you with bags. Goodwill has many drop box locations around the city. I must say I feel lighter now that they are gone.

So instead of hanging onto items I don’t use, I can donate them and maybe someone else will use them.  What items do you have trouble parting with? Today I will dig a little deeper, maybe get rid of the old 8 track player and tapes!

The website for Vietnam Veterans of America: www.PICKUPSFORVETS.org or call 800-535-3834.

Leave a Reply

